Red slime bacteria, what to do?

Shoki

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef people! I’m new at reef keeping and my 110g is having a serious algae and bacterial bloom!! I have red slime bacteria ALL over my sand! My water is so cloudy i can barely see through it.

Cyanobacteria or Dinoflagellates?

Tank perimeters:
PH 8.4
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Phosphate 2.0
Ammonia 0.05
unsure of Alkalinity, Calcium, and other parameters..

Running canister filter. Fluval Fx4. I can’t afford a sump right now, although i am aware sumps are ideal. No skimming, No UV.

Inhabitants: Lionfish, Porcupine Puffer, 5 damsels, Mandarin goby, Medium/Sm powder brown tang.
2 Xoas, 1 Galaxia (?), 1 Duncan frag, 1 leather finger coral, pulsing xenia. Light on for 12HR, off for 12HR.

Not expecting an instant fix in a bottle. Need advice, please !!!

B3EFFE59-1988-4285-BD17-D17EB34C6C50.jpeg 02E9BDBC-1A65-4D37-A9E8-3F7CC725202E.jpeg E0E0BB87-6384-4453-84FB-9430FEC285AE.jpeg 880CC90E-DDF7-46F6-B6FD-56E8AA9AD32F.jpeg D4474764-BDFB-48F9-9ED2-2A69D2EB9B46.jpeg

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would suggest to consider increasing the flow, it looks a little stagnant in there, and doesn't seem much flow, if any, at the bottom where the cyano is.

Phosphate is very high if thats correct, and zero nitrate... Do you not have any testing equipment?

How old is the tank? It seem under-filtered to me, how are you exporting nutrients from all those fish?

In the end, chemiclean is the easiest and fastest way to get rid of cyano, but if you don't fix the underlying issue's, it will just come right back.

Last edited:

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like cyano.
Can be caused by excess light, near a window, or low flow.
Not uncommon. Try to promote other bacteria and coralline to crowd out the cyano.

OP
OP
S

Shoki

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0