Shipping Fish/Coral during the winter?

Andrew Schubert

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So this is my first year with my tank, and heading into my first winter. I've purchased most of my corals/fish online. However, when does it start to become 'unsafe' weather wise to do this. I'm assuming I'm about to the point where I'll have to wait to add more to my tank until Spring :-(. I was wanting to add a bunch of rock flower anemones to my tank in the near future, but our weather here in IL is already dropping down to 40 as highs.

Then again I know Diver's Den is in WI, and can't imagine they stop shipping in the winter. So maybe weather isn't that important as long as I order from reputable shippers who can insulate the items?

Just wondering what others experience has been with DOA shipping livestock during winters.

dmcoates

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do it in Alaska , the key is ship right to your local fedex station and pick it up. Doing this avoids the package sitting on the truck all day when being delivered. Plus I get the shipment by about 1pm instead of 6-7pm.

Oscaror

Back In It
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So this is my first year with my tank, and heading into my first winter. I've purchased most of my corals/fish online. However, when does it start to become 'unsafe' weather wise to do this. I'm assuming I'm about to the point where I'll have to wait to add more to my tank until Spring :-(. I was wanting to add a bunch of rock flower anemones to my tank in the near future, but our weather here in IL is already dropping down to 40 as highs.

Then again I know Diver's Den is in WI, and can't imagine they stop shipping in the winter. So maybe weather isn't that important as long as I order from reputable shippers who can insulate the items?

Just wondering what others experience has been with DOA shipping livestock during winters.