RO/DI break in?

joeyhatch11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just swapped my sediment filter, carbon filter and DI cartridge on my Spectrapure unit. Just wondering if there is a new break in process for these filter as this is my first time having to replace them. Thanks Joe

Jimbo662

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I always just run mine about 5 min and dispose of that water.

OP
OP
joeyhatch11

joeyhatch11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The TDS coming out of the membrane keeps jumping from 27 down to 14 or 12 then back up to 27/28. Before the swap I was getting 4-5 out of the membrane constantly. That's whats throwing me off here but I am getting 0 out of the DI.

PSU4ME

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've "read" before that on a new unit you should discard the first 5g made. I would let it run for at least 15-30 minutes and shake it a few times to let the DI channeling move around.

OP
OP
joeyhatch11

joeyhatch11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I let it run for at least 20 minutes before filling up my Brute container. The TDS coming out now is reading 11 so that's good. I'm sure over time it'll drop to the 3-4 that it was before.

AZDesertRat

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sediment and carbon block filters have nothing to do with TDS, they are there to protect the RO membrane from TSS, suspended solids or big stuff. TDS or dissolved solids are in the 0.0001 micron range so pass right through them to be removed by the membrane.