2 part dosing

MikeJT

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On a YouTube video from FishOfHex, he strongly recommended that when dosing Alk & Calcium it should be in equal amounts. Is this a best practice?

Last edited:

BadPanda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a newbie when it comes to dosing but I don't think its right. Ex. Alk 8.0 and cal 400 and want to increase cal to 460. I believe you would add more cal dosage and maitain alk dosage to increase cal. Once you reach your target numbers maintain dosage to keep the numbers where you want it. I currently dose 2.5 mL twice a week for my Nuvo 20 with water weekly change to maintain my alk and cal. I could also be wrong. I'm pretty sure someone with more knowledge will provide a better elaboration.

Larry L

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most two-part calcium and alk supplements are designed so that dosing equal amounts will maintain the balance of ions in your system. You're basically adding calcium chloride (the calcium part) plus sodium carbonate or sodium bicarbonate (the alk part), so the calcium and the carbonate become available to your coral in the same ratio that they normally uptake from the water to build their skeletons, and the sodium and chloride just end up as salt.

Like @BadPanda said there might be times when you need to raise either calcium or alk relative to the other, but once you reach target levels you should dose in equal amounts (assuming the supplements you are using were designed as a two-part system). There's a good article here by @Randy Holmes-Farley about getting calcium and alkalinity in line with each other (I think it's still a valid URL but for some reason seems not to be working right now):

https://www.advancedaquarist.com/2002/11/chemistry

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0