40 Breeder Sump & Refugium Design

DirtDiggler2823

If I can't break it, it doesn't exist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I've been trying to design a very rough draft of a sump/refugium setup to go under my soon to be reef tank. Until I get the skimmer and other pieces, this is the best I can do. Since I'm new to this, and only have a little knowledge as to how the baffles and whatnot work in a sump, I'd like some input from the community here. Attached is my 3rd draft of this, and what I believe to be my best shot. All baffles are intended to be glass, except the assemble that has the filter cups/socks. Please note that none of this is to any scale of any kind, and that it is a 2d rendering of a concept.

sump design 3.jpg

Dpate

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Should there be some sort of foam or floss between the baffles? I've see that design used, but I'm not certain of its function.

NO! the sponge or whatever is stuffed in between the baffles clogs up quickly leading to fluctuations in the return chamber. The space between baffles serves as a bubble trap.

OP
OP
DirtDiggler2823

DirtDiggler2823

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I've been trying to design a very rough draft of a sump/refugium setup to go under my soon to be reef tank. Until I get the skimmer and other pieces, this is the best I can do. Since I'm new to this, and only have a little knowledge as to how the baffles and whatnot work in a sump, I'd like some input from the community here. Attached is my 3rd draft of this, and what I believe to be my best shot. All baffles are intended to be glass, except the assemble that has the filter cups/socks. Please note that none of this is to any scale of any kind, and that it is a 2d rendering of a concept.

sump design 3.jpg

I should probably put another bubble trap between the fuge and the pump

Dpate

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0