A stupid question

Tuna Melt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I struggle with keeping Nitrates up. My Phosphates yo-yo between 0.05 and 0.09, but my Nitrates are perpetually declining. I was previously dosing neo-nitro to maintain my desired level of Nitrate but I stopped because I view measured Nitrate as a representation of excess N in the system rather than a measure of true usable N. That's because corals prefer ammonia and that's their primary (preferred) source of N. I'm no expert, in fact I'm a newbie, but that's what I've heard.

So... I've been trying to increase Nitrates organically, said differently I'm trying to make sure there is enough usable N in the system by solving for a bit of excess N i.e. Nitrates. Some folks say "feed more" but even if I feed exclusively frozen my phosphates increase at least commensurately (usually more) than Nitrates. I'm happy with Phosphates and don't want them to increase. Some people suggest adding more fish, but why would that change anything, I'm still adding the same ratio of N&P into the system in from the additional food.

So my question is, does adding a fish increase nitrates in relation to Phosphates? Or does it increase both proportionately?

I guess if fish metabolize at a higher ratio of P/N than the rest of the tank they could? Like if a coral consumes 10N for every 1P, or algea consumes 16N for every 1P, do fish consume 5N to every 1P so adding another fish decreases the average ratio of P/N consumption?

Another random rambling thought which kind of answers the above question - a quick google search suggests that animals have a much lower N/P ratio than plants ~(8/1 vs 15/1), so maybe I could drop some nori in more frequently? My only herbivore is a tailspot blenny but it may be worth a shot. This could also help explain my issue since my primary export is an algae scrubber which is consuming N/P at a 15/1 rate...