Adding a section to my sump

SaltwaterScoop

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I have an Eshopps RS-75 Reef Sump (not the latest gen) shown below...

I currently have an SCA-301 skimmer in there and some liverock with a light over it growing macroalgaes (I know this has minimal impact on nutrient export but it's fun and running the light in reverse of my main light helps stabilize pH levels). I've never worked with acrylic before and I was hoping to add a dedicated fuge area to put beneficial pests/aggressive inverts from the display and other macroalgaes into (while being separated from my skimmer). How difficult would it be to add a new chamber to the sump? The first chamber would be for the skimmer and would be wide enough just for it to fit, then I'd add a new chamber using acrylic (maybe this to keep light out? idk). Then there would be the fuge area.

If this is relatively easy to do, what should I use to accomplish this in terms of acrylic material/adhesive?

419oDVh5gqL._SX466_.jpg

ReefEco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey SaltwaterScoop, unless you want to totally drain, clean, and then glue in some acrylic - sounds like the easier route would be just to cut some acrylic, or glass, so it is a tight enough fit to create another section. Unless it matters that a tiny bit of water will go around the new section, it will be much easier than draining and cleaning the sump so you can glue in a new piece of acrylic. If you are just interested in separating larger organisms from the rest of the sump (i.e. hermits, the odd banished coral or fish) then a tight, non-glued baffle is the easiest solution.