Adjusting Vertex Omega 150 skimmer

Tonii

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good evening,

I recently went from an all in one tank to a tank with a sump. I’ve had this skimmer running for a couple of weeks now. Does it seem like it’s running how it’s supposed to or should I make some adjustments? This is my first time using a skimmer like this one. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
0b7182f12b6bc358cae913cc83a5c5f1.jpg
acc533b36c60080f962b2156eab2d620.jpg
e67f49238e53fcdafa61c71a849f9d43.jpg

Tbyram

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you need to adjust the pipe to limit the water flow out. When first installed it says to open it wide open but once broken in you can slowly close it some until the water level rises. This is of course assuming you have it at a good water level to begin with. I run mine at about 7.5" and then adjust the water flow pipe to where the bubbles show right around the bottom of the cup base .

Here are a few pics of mine. The pipe I'm talking about is the one on left side and note my water is just above the outlet (8" deep in sump but propped up on small stand to get at 7.0-7.5". Also note the bubbles are just around bottom of cup in main tube or a little higher.

IMG_1139.JPG
IMG_1140.JPG

OP
OP
Tonii

Tonii

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you need to adjust the pipe to limit the water flow out. When first installed it says to open it wide open but once broken in you can slowly close it some until the water level rises. This is of course assuming you have it at a good water level to begin with. I run mine at about 7.5" and then adjust the water flow pipe to where the bubbles show right around the bottom of the cup base .