Algae ID

Cfowler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
20230227_160322.jpg
20230305_133635.jpg

Can anyone help me ID this stuff? It's only growing on the tops of the highest rocks. I removed it and it came back in 7-10 days. Nitrates and Phosphates are both at 0 and I feed 3 times a day so I'm assuming whatever this is, is probably just consuming it? I have been adding copepods and phytoplankton for a couple months with zero improvement. Using socks and added a skimmer 3 weeks ago for filtration, no refugium yet. Tank is 1 year old. I'm getting set up to dose h202 in an effort to get rid of uronema (DNA tested positive twice but no outbreak in fish). Whatever this is seemed to thrive when I was dosing Metronidazole but hasn't gone away now that I'm not dosing anymore. Any help appreciated.

Subsea

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off: nitrates & phosphates at zero is BAD.

Why did you post a picture of Cotton Candy macroalgae to be identified then talk about Uronema treated with Metronydazole. What does getting set up to dose peroxide involve and what are we treating now.

olonmv

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Kinda leaning towards a bacterial colony. it’s consuming your nutrients faster than you can put them in makes me think it’s bacterial.

OP
OP
C

Cfowler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off: nitrates & phosphates at zero is BAD.

Why did you post a picture of Cotton Candy macroalgae to be identified then talk about Uronema treated with Metronydazole. What does getting set up to dose peroxide involve and what are we treating now.
I'm sorry if it was hard for you to understand.
The fact that this stuff got worse while treating with Metronidazole seems important to me.
Some people have e seen algae increase with peroxide dosing which is why I haven't started it yet.