Alk 7, cal 560 and Mag 1480- - - - -BRS dosing on the way

Joker79

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
230 gal system between four tanks with sump
I cant seem to get my alk to stay up or even get up there. PH is around 7 as well using Kent reef salt.
I am completely new to the whole dosing aspect but am going to give it a whirl!
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Phosphate .02

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can use regular baking soda dissolved in water to slowly raise your alk. Once you get it where you want you can set up some type of dosing method to maintain it. If you have a low stony coral load you could try changing salts to one with a higher alk.

Have you tested the alkalinity of the newly mixed salt water before adding it to your tank?

OP
OP
Joker79

Joker79

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have quite a few lps colonies and a few sps.
Haven't tested new salt water yet but will now!!! Thanks!

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IIRC, Kent does have some crazy numbers similar to that. Not sure about the alk and pH though....that sounds like an extra low set of numbers. If you are sure of your numbers, and aren't carbon dosing in some form (CO2, vodka, vinegar, etc.) I'd try getting the tank some fresh air from outside the house.

Extending the air intake for your skimmer through a window or doorway to the outside is the most common way.

If there's a chance that's convenient to at least test, you should see results in pH pretty quickly. If it works, there are lots of creative ways to do a permanent install for the air.