Apex alarms

lost66

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
413
Reaction score
310
Location
Fuquay Varina, NC
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It was annoying to receive a mobile push notification each hour so I modified alarms to trigger 2 times a day by using virtual outlets. But now I decided to keep it in original status and I am trying to setup a simple thing and I am having a hard time with apex. Having given alarm settings I get push notification about alarm is turned off. There is no ON notification, only OFF so I don't even know what triggered it ON. Anyone sees what is wrong?

My alarm setup
1655726276435.png

From log I see it was on.
1655726238069.png


I checked and non of those shown in alarm configuration was in the condition to turn it on.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
92,298
Reaction score
204,094
Location
Wisconsin -
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
It was annoying to receive a mobile push notification each hour so I modified alarms to trigger 2 times a day by using virtual outlets. But now I decided to keep it in original status and I am trying to setup a simple thing and I am having a hard time with apex. Having given alarm settings I get push notification about alarm is turned off. There is no ON notification, only OFF so I don't even know what triggered it ON. Anyone sees what is wrong?

My alarm setup
1655726276435.png

From log I see it was on.
1655726238069.png


I checked and non of those shown in alarm configuration was in the condition to turn it on.
Reason I have my alarms turned off
You can however set ranges higher so you don’t get a multitude of alerts
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are going about the logic backwards from what you want to do.

Set up your VO to be the times you don't want to be alarmed for conditions, and turn the alarm OFF when the VO is ON.

Critical alarms, keep lower in the order as you have already done.
 
OP
OP
lost66

lost66

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
413
Reaction score
310
Location
Fuquay Varina, NC
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are going about the logic backwards from what you want to do.

Set up your VO to be the times you don't want to be alarmed for conditions, and turn the alarm OFF when the VO is ON.

Critical alarms, keep lower in the order as you have already done.
What do you mean by logic backwards?
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What do you mean by logic backwards?
Right now you are turning the outlet ON with the pompa VO.

You should instead turn the outlet off with pompa.


This is how I do a similar thing myself.

WeekStop (VO)
Set OFF
If Time 21:00 to 05:30 Then ON
If Time 06:00 to 18:00 Then ON
If DoW S-----S Then OFF

WeekendStop (VO)
Set OFF
If Time 21:00 to 08:00 Then ON
If DoW -MTWTF- Then OFF

Email
Set OFF
(Low priority alarms)
If Output WeekStop = ON Then OFF
If Output WeekendStop = ON Then OFF
(High priority alarms)

This gives me hourly alerts only on weekends from 8am to 9pm and weekdays 5:30 to 6:00 and 6pm to 9pm.

High priority stuff like a leak alerts me hourly even if it happens at 3am.
 
OP
OP
lost66

lost66

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
413
Reaction score
310
Location
Fuquay Varina, NC
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I don't see any difference in logic. You set it off at the beginning and turning on based on the condition. Virtual outlets turn alarm off in certain time of the day and week.
What I don't know what triggers my alarm. This is alarm log from today. Nothing triggered it on so why I am getting notifications about turning it off?

1655814477696.png
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I don't see any difference in logic. You set it off at the beginning and turning on based on the condition. Virtual outlets turn alarm off in certain time of the day and week.
What I don't know what triggers my alarm. This is alarm log from today. Nothing triggered it on so why I am getting notifications about turning it off?

1655814477696.png
The difference in logic is that you are turning it on for:

Low priority conditions OR when pompa is on OR high priority alarms

The way I showed it turns on for (Low priority alarms AND allowed time window) OR high priority alarms.


The way you get this AND that logic in the apex is to turn on for the "this" items and then turn off for the opposite of "that" items.




The random alarms are likely something like a float switch tetering on the edge of open or closed or a pH/temp probe eight on the edge of an alarm.



Add

Defer 000:30 Then OFF


At the end of your email outlet and it will hold the alarm true long enough to see what it is.
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pompa is my return pump. The logic in that outlet is super simple "fallback on, set on". So for any reason pompa is off I should be notified - power outage or something like that.
Gotcha. You said you were trying to limit alarms to twice a day, so I just assumed that pompa was your VO to attempt that.

The form I gave above is how you can suppress low priority alarms during hours you don't want to be bothered by it. In apex local, you can also adjust the re-email delay to get notified less often. I can't recall the maximum time but I think it's either 2 or 4 hours.
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do note that the pompa line won't actually notify you about a power outage. If will only email you if the outlet was manually turned off.

Return failing off notification (assuming you have an EB832) would be

If Output pompa watts < X Then ON where X is 80% of normal wattage draw.

Power outages can only be detected if you have the apex on a UPS and use the form

If Power Apex Off 000 Then ON

If Power EB8name Off 000 Then ON
 
OP
OP
lost66

lost66

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
413
Reaction score
310
Location
Fuquay Varina, NC
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I get it now. I used virtual outlet in a different way. Your version, to use it as a suspender for certain low priority alarms makes perfect sense. I like it!
But as a person who works with JS, C# daily I still hate programming Apex.
 

Tentacled trailblazer in your tank: Have you ever kept a large starfish?

  • I currently have a starfish in my tank.

    Votes: 35 30.2%
  • Not currently, but I have kept a starfish in the past.

    Votes: 30 25.9%
  • I have never kept a starfish, but I hope to in the future.

    Votes: 26 22.4%
  • I have no plans to keep a starfish.

    Votes: 24 20.7%
  • Other.

    Votes: 1 0.9%
Back
Top