AquaticLife RODI Buddie TDS > 0

RaymondL

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using Aquatic Life's RODI Buddie system for the past 8 months - I've always had an inline TDS reading of 0, and as well using another external TDS reader to double check. Lately, I've been getting a reading of 1 for both TDS meter readings.

This is my first RODI system, so not sure which cartridge is responsible for TDS removal? Is TDS of 1 acceptable?

I have made less than 100 gallons to date with the unit.

Thanks

Saltyreef

I'm not your dad...
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using Aquatic Life's RODI Buddie system for the past 8 months - I've always had an inline TDS reading of 0, and as well using another external TDS reader to double check. Lately, I've been getting a reading of 1 for both TDS meter readings.

This is my first RODI system, so not sure which cartridge is responsible for TDS removal? Is TDS of 1 acceptable?

Thanks
The deionizing cartridge is responsible for getting the water to 0tds after the RO membrane.

RO buddies arent known for their capacity so I cant tell you if something else is actually causing this issue but it would be worth it to perform a c02 test on your incoming water so you can take precautions and offgas the RO water before pumping through your DI cartridge if thats whats going on.

C02 in the water will eat up a high capacity 600+ gal resin cartridge in under 100g IME.

ScottJ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, I use the same RODI. I make maybe 20, 25 gallons a week. I change the carbon and sediment filters every 6 months or so. Replace the DI resin when it turns color all the way to the top of the cartridge, maybe once a year. I still get 0 TDS out of the membrane, before the resin. The unit is over three years old and on the original membrane.

It doesn't make water very fast, but it's a good little RODI unit for small needs.

Townes_Van_Camp

Valuable Member
View Badges