AZ FRAG Nov Meeting: 11/16 @ 3PM

evolved

[email protected]
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Join us for our November meeting!

This meeting we'll be hosted by the Broken Yolk in Mesa, and we'll be hosting a guest speaker, Skylar Snowden.

Skylar Snowden, Bachelors in Biology:​
I am a beach kid through and through. Originally from Virginia Beach, VA, I grew up surfing nearly every day of my life. With that being said, my life has always been very closely associated with the ocean. I spent 5 years in the US Coast Guard stationed in both Key West and Los Angeles. All the while fostering my love of the sea. I knew very early in life that I wanted to be a Marine Biologist, and when I exited the Coast Guard, I finished my biology degree. I have had tanks all of my life since I was a child. In the 90s, when I lived in LA, I started working part time for a business that set up and maintained tanks for offices and super rich people. I ended up living in Pittsburgh which is where my ex is from. I was hired on at the Carnegie Science Center to take care of their coral reef ecosystem. Since then, I have worked at the Aquarium at Moody Gardens in Galveston, the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada, and now SeaLife Arizona. For the last 11 years or so, I have been doing fieldwork every year helping to teach others how to sexually reproduce corals. I have now done fieldwork in Mexico, Puerto Rico, Curacao, and Guam. One highlight of my career was having the privilege of seeing the reefs of Palau.​
And Skylar will be presenting:
Coral Reproduction: What we Think We know……. An overview of the life of a coral with emphasis on reproduction and how some of it can be easily facilitated in hobbyist aquariums. Broadcast spawners vs brooders vs asexual reproduction​

We'll have a small raffle as well as our usual coral auction at the end, if anyone wishes to auction frags of their own.