Battling Cyano. New Reefers Please Read!!

Picassoclown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I have been reefing for 15 years, but took a decade long break when I went into the military. In the past I have always worked with live rock for my systems or clients systems when I was a young teenage kid and running a small fish business lol. This was the first tank I ever used dry, sterile rock. I wanted to share my success with the beginners in the hobby and give a complete breakdown of my ongoing battle with cyano that I am FINALLY getting under control.

Tank Specs & Specimens:

210 gallon system (150 gallon & 60 gallon sump)
Vectra M2 return pump
(2) MP40 power heads
Reef Octopus internal skimmer, rated for 300+ gallons
Approx 80lbs of dry Marco rock in display and in sump
(2) Neptune Sky LED lights

Livestock:

Juvenile orange shoulder tang
Pair of bullet hole clowns
Royal Gramma
Helfrichi
(10) masked gobies
(3) bimaculatus anthias
(3) neon blue gobies
(1) twin spot goby
(1) blood shrimp
(1) sand sifting starfish
(2) fighting conches
(1) crocea clam
(3) gorgonians
(40-50) snails: wide assortment of every kind from giant mexican turbo snails, to tiny nessariius snails & cerith snails
(1) blue knuckle crab
(1) halloween crab
(18-20) blue legged & red legged crabs

Corals:

(4) designer torches
(1) SPS stick
(1) bubble coral
(6) euphyllia ranging from hammers to octospawns and frogspawn
(1) trachy
(1) scoly
(2) blastos
(3) monti caps & 1 digitata
(1) duncan
(2) trumpets
(15) zoas
(4) mushrooms

My tank was setup in May of last year and finished cycling by end of June. Small bacteria blooms would come and go, as well as cyano itself, and other "ugly phase" algae. Things got really bad mid-December when I had cyano completely blow up. At first I let it be as it did come and go in the past, but after 3 weeks of it not going away and getting worse, I had to step things up.