Best life rock choices for 65 gallons

CringeTankDaddy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This might be an overthinking question but I'm wondering for the shape and height of this tank, if any experienced reefers have any suggestions for rock types. I'm pretty happy with CaribSea life rock as it's affordable and they have nice cave and arch kits. I've read 1lb to gallon is a good starting ratio. Any information would help. This is my first attempt, and just taking everything slow absorbing everything without getting ahead of myself.

Legendary Corals

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the hobby! I see that you're in Sacramento, there are some great local reefers in your area if you look up the 916 reef club group and MARS (Marine Aquarist Roundtable of Sacramento). Alexander Whedbee is a good friend of mine and one of the coolest people up there, he has lots of coral too!

As for rocks, Caribsea is a great choice. People love to use Marco Rocks too. I wouldn't worry too much about the 1lb per gallon rule and just scape your tank the way you like it. Are you running a sump/ what does your tank look like? Post some pics! :)

littlefoxx

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This might be an overthinking question but I'm wondering for the shape and height of this tank, if any experienced reefers have any suggestions for rock types. I'm pretty happy with CaribSea life rock as it's affordable and they have nice cave and arch kits. I've read 1lb to gallon is a good starting ratio. Any information would help. This is my first attempt, and just taking everything slow absorbing everything without getting ahead of myself.