Blue Par vs White Par

JAMSOURY

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
So I’m new to testing to par, is it normal that par under blue lights test come out significantly lower than under whites?

Just wondering how will I know my blues are strong enough if the par reads low or should I just be looking to aim for overall par with a mix of both of the blues and whites?

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes whites are the important ones to coral/anemones and should have a higher PAR reading than blue.

OP
OP
JAMSOURY

JAMSOURY

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Yes whites are the important ones to coral/anemones and should have a higher PAR reading than blue.

I thought blues were best for growth though. For example, my 2 blue+ only bulbs on a small tank make low par readings.

dantimdad

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

OK, not going to argue here but there is way more evidence to the contrary
As a matter of fact, there are those that don't run whites at all and have growth and color. @Lasse please chime in here.

If you look at the absorption graphs, it is in the violet, blue and reds where chlorophyll gets it's energy.

Now, that being said, it is normal for whites to be appear to be brighter.

Violet will spike PAR even though you don't see it as bright.

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK, not going to argue here but there is way more evidence to the contrary
As a matter of fact, there are those that don't run whites at all and have growth and color. @Lasse please chime in here.

If you look at the absorption graphs, it is in the violet, blue and reds where chlorophyll gets it's energy.

Now, that being said, it is normal for whites to be appear to be brighter.

Violet will spike PAR even though you don't see it as bright.
Learn something new everyday.

Dana Riddle

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%