Blue tang turning to the dark side?

noahreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recently I’ve noticed that my blue tang has been taking bites out of my torch. He hasn’t touched anything else in my tank only interested in the torch. I keep him fed well with nori every day along with mysis everyday. Anybody ever heard of this and if there is anyway to make him stop besides removing him?

Thanks

FoxyFace

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes. I have a friend this happened to. His hepatus tang’s face turned black and it started to eat all types of coral.

hybridshrimp_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well i'm not an expert but i guess i'll try to help. Probably it recognizes it as an algae/seaweed, try moving the torch coral to other parts of the tank. And maybe (not very sure) it wants you to feed it more. :) Hope it works.

Jesterrace

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are the occasional rogue tang stories out there as far as corals are concerned, it just depends on the individual fish. Have you tried LRS Reef Frenzy? It offers mysis plus a much more in a diversified diet. My Yellow Tang did well between it and seaweed.

OP
OP
noahreefer

noahreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well i'm not an expert but i guess i'll try to help. Probably it recognizes it as an algae/seaweed, try moving the torch coral to other parts of the tank. And maybe (not very sure) it wants you to feed it more. :) Hope it works.

I guess he could be recognizing it as some type of algae but I mean he steals most of the nori from the other fish and is the most aggressive eater of the bunch so I’d be surprised if he’s just still hungry

OP
OP
noahreefer

noahreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0