Calcium, KH, Phosphates and Nitrates WAY HIGH

Quincy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water sample 2 weeks ago at LFS was 'all good.' No #s, just said it was all good. I'm really new to this so, please, treat me like I'm 2! Got API Reef Master Test Kit today and here are my numbers:
Calcium 540 ppm
KH 13 (or 232dKH)
Phosphates 2
Nitrates 160
Had major Dino issue so we haven't done water changes with new water for 3 weeks, just use same water, filtered with Micron sock (10).
Only thing we are adding now is MacroBac7 to help with Dino. Mostly under control, at this second.
I have frogspawn, hammer (currently 90% dead/all skeleton), sebae anem, cleaner crew, brittle star, 4 fish, a couple polyps and hard coral.
ANY help would be appreciated as I don't know where to begin! 3 months up in my house, BIL had it for 10 years or so. So, kinda new/kinda not.

Reefing_addiction

It’s my TANK and I want it NOW!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water changes best way to get your numbers down.

do you have a ato?
I wouldn’t worry about your calcium so much
something I’ve learned the hard way, api is not a great test kit, it kinda sucks. Maybe look into new test kits nyos, Red Sea, Hanna checkers, salifret (s

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water changes best way to get your numbers down.

Not necessarily for phosphate. Even a 100% change may not bring it down that much, since the majority may be temporarily bound to rock and sand.

ks2509

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off do you have corals in the tank? Second like above try and get a good test set. Nyos, redsea, or hannah.

I would verify the numbers with either another lfs or different test .

Kris 2020

Super Active Excellent Well Known Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your salinity? How are you measuring it? Are you topping off with salt water or fresh rodi?

OP
OP
Quincy

Quincy