Chasing Phosphate

flying4fish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been reefing for about 6 years. Even with my Ph.D. in coral reef fish ecology, I'm always amazed out how difficult this hobby can be! For the better part of a year I've been fighting to lower phosphate. I tried carbon dosing and it dropped nitrate to zero without much impact on phosphate. I continued carbon dosing and added GFO. My phosphates began to come down, slowly. When I finally reached target levels of phosphate (.02-.05ppm), I discontinued carbon dosing and GFO. Phosphate continued to decline all the way to zero, and no matter how much I feed it remains zero. So I started dosing phosphate. If I check phosphate soon after dosing I can get a reading on my Hanna checker, but by the next morning it's zero. So I just put my phosphate solution in my auto-doser and started dosing every hour (1 ml of my stock solution which is 1090 ppm phosphate; 170L tank). I'm still not registering any phosphate.

I've read that the rocks and sand can be a phosphate sink; presumably that is why it took so long to come down. But how difficult is it to reach equilibrium? Will the substrate suddenly get saturated and my phosphate go through the roof again? Will I ever be able to stop dosing phosphate? I'm leaving on a 16 day trip in a week and I'm afraid what my happen while I'm away if I leave the dosing regime in place. I have a house sitter who can feed the fish, but she's not up to maintaining water chemistry!

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will the substrate suddenly get saturated and my phosphate go through the roof again?
No. This won’t happen. The PO4 will bind to the substrate to reach equilibrium in the water. As the concentration goes up, the rocks will match the level in the water. It is an even and gradual process.