Choosing my first corals

c0b_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For my 5 gallon tall pico tank, I am about to put in some corals, but I am not completely sure which ones I should start out with. This is my first reef tank and I am a complete beginner so I researched a bit and decided that soft corals would probably be the best to start out with.

My current list of potential corals are: Zoanthids, Clove Polyps, Discosomas, Candy Canes, Toadstools, Kenya Trees, Green Star Polyps, and Xenia (These last two I am not so sure of because of their rapid growth)

How many corals do you think I should start with and which ones would you recommend? Feel free to recommend me a coral that isn't on my list as well.

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would start with soft corals myself, and skip xenia for the time being (it just spreads too quickly). Green star polyps are fine but you need to isolate these for the same reason. For your size of tank I would look at zoas/palys, mushrooms, acans, blastos and other small corals.

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For my 5 gallon tall pico tank, I am about to put in some corals, but I am not completely sure which ones I should start out with. This is my first reef tank and I am a complete beginner so I researched a bit and decided that soft corals would probably be the best to start out with.

My current list of potential corals are: Zoanthids, Clove Polyps, Discosomas, Candy Canes, Toadstools, Kenya Trees, Green Star Polyps, and Xenia (These last two I am not so sure of because of their rapid growth)

How many corals do you think I should start with and which ones would you recommend? Feel free to recommend me a coral that isn't on my list as well.