Cloudy hospital tank

gonefishing2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,
I am relatively new to fish keeping, but have been doing fairly well so far. I have a 55gal with 2 baby koi (less than 3 inches) that will eventually go to a pond, 1 black Moore, 2 clown plecos, 4 mystery snails, and a handful of baby shrimp. This weekend a friend gave me 2 additional baby koi and 1 has what appears to be mouth rot. I have a set up a 10 gal hospital tank that was previously cucled and has some previously used gravel substrate, one plant, and a bubbler. Just today I dosed with Kanaplex and and polyguard. In just a few hours the water has turned very cloudy. My water parameters semi good. 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, small nitrates and ph around 7.2. I really want to make sure these fish make it (one appears completely healthy). Any advice? Not sure about doing a water change with the meds in place.

Fishology

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can help but this, site is more for saltwater tanks, it may be going threw its algae stage we’re new bacteria are beginning to grow it will most likely clear within a week or so. You may want to do a water change, what filter do you have it may be also bad filtration.

OP
OP
G

gonefishing2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can help but this, site is more for saltwater tanks, it may be going threw its algae stage we’re new bacteria are beginning to grow it will most likely clear within a week or so. You may want to do a water change, what filter do you have it may be also bad filtration.
Hi,

thank you for your reply. I guess I did not realize that this was geared towards saltwater. Right now I have removed the filtration per the instructions for the medication. Typically it just has a small, disposable, carbon filter.

Fishology

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,