Coral Frags Observation

N2nanoreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recently visited a local aquarium store and coral vendor with great reviews. They mostly deal with online orders and have huge warehouse with corals for days- open to the public. However, holding/ frag tank was infested with aptasia and bubble algae and who knows what else. From threads I’m reading here, most have come to accept the pests and buy, treat at home anyway, while others consider this a red flag. Place has more variety than several places in my area. But the tank management at other vendors is pristine so there’s that. Should I disregard the conditions of tanks at this place, as corals look phenomenal, and just scrape off, treat or remove coral from frags? What would you do? Ty

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

I'm not an expert, so others with more experience may offer better advice, but I am in the camp of why bring home the pests and hope to deal with them? I personally would go for the store that looked clean, if everything else was the same. If the store with the unkept tanks had something you just absolutely had to have, then at the least do some dipping and setup an observation tank for the new coral so you're not risking your main display tank. Again, others will know for sure, but that's my $0.02.

Good luck with whatever you choose!

OP
OP
N

N2nanoreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!