Cycling a tank for copepods

bluey

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey guys and gals (again!) i just wanted to ask if anyone has any information or heard anything about cycling your tank that you're using exclusively for copepods? i've added used filter media and cultured live rock to my copepod tank that houses only copepods (like 3-5 different kinds) i've been culturing for 5 months in preparation for a pair of mandarin gobies (what else? lol) right now my tank is so thick with copepods it looks like snow blowing around in a blizzard...just wondering...i've not really had to do a water change out of necessity....ever....(5 months) does anyone have any input into this situation...as to where you can potentially sustain a copepod population for extremely long periods of time without necessary water changes...i'm still going to do water changes but i want to minimize it because my wife will have a hard time lifting a 5 gallon bucket (she's tiny) and i want to make it easier

if you have any information about this, let me know what you use as a CuC inside to take care of the sludge that is created! thanks so much

xxkenny90xx

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you added media or rock from an established tank then the copapod tank is already cycled so no worries there. And they can withstand pretty dirty water but it will either need occasional water changes or sufficient filtration.

OP
OP
bluey

bluey

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you added media or rock from an established tank then the copapod tank is already cycled so no worries there. And they can withstand pretty dirty water but it will either need occasional water changes or sufficient filtration.
i'm not sure what kind of filtration would be usable....most anything i can think of would catch them i've been particular to not have any filtration because of this....i was thinking a CuC...thoughts?