Cycling tank

jpscremo0620

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so im relatively new to the hobby. I have set up a 36l nano tank with some live rock. I know ussually the die off on the rock is enough to start the cycle. Problem is 1. There doesnt seem to be alot of life on the rock 2. The rock was even out of the water 20min. So im leaning towards the cocktail shrimp method as a ammonia source. Question is: MUST it be shrimp or can i use any piece of meat as ammonia source. Reason for question is i live in a rural area and the drive is about 1hr to nearest shop. Far way to go for 1 shrimp lol. I will if i havr to just checking if normal meat might work

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I HIGHLY recommend getting some ammonium chloride from Dr tims or algaebarn or brightwell. It is measurable and promotes only nitrifiers which speeds up the cycle and allows you to avoid letting rotting meat sit in your tank.

However, if you do not want to do that method, the next best choice is to just use fish pellets or flakes.

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I believe shrimp is preferable because it breaks down quickly. Perhaps a piece of fish would work better than say red meat in this regard.

OP
OP
J

jpscremo0620

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tnx dor the swift replies :) Dr tims nor pure ammonia is available in my country for over the counter purchases. Using flakes how much must i add daily? I have been adding straight every night for the last 4 days havent seen any ammonia. Is this normal?

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tnx dor the swift replies :) Dr tims nor pure ammonia is available in my country for over the counter purchases. Using flakes how much must i add daily? I have been adding straight every night for the last 4 days havent seen any ammonia. Is this normal?