Denitrate

bloodlimit

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tried denitrate but it did not work well unless I dose vodka. And then I removed all the denitrate, kept dosing vodka and nitrate was kept in low level.

Scrappy RN

I'm your Huckleberry!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use a combination of chaeto in the sump and water changes to reduce nitrate. BRS has an awesome video series about the chaeto method! I don't like adding any chemicals that aren't absolutely necessary into my tanks. I've done FW ones for years and do the same with my saltwater tank. No problems so far. But I am new to SW so we'll see!

Scrappy RN

I'm your Huckleberry!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How big is your tank? Do you just float the chaeto in your sump or?

I have a 75 gal DT and the sump is around 20 gal. I float the chaeto in the front of the sump near where the return line dumps in so it gets plenty of water flow. It's a separate area from the actual return and is also separate from the next chamber where the protein skimmer sits.

I have a grow light above it that I bought for a planted FW tank a couple of years ago and wasn't able to use at the time. I keep the grow light on most of the time unless I start getting too much pest algae in the main tank. Then I cut back to just lighting at night in the sump.

The BRS series is a great education on how it works!

becks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use denitrate in a reactor and it produces 0ppm nitrate. It's important to ensure you have less than 200lph flow through the reactor and will take a few weeks to colonise. Your nitrates also need to be below 25 before you start for some reason.

becks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0