DIY Sump/Refugium Plans????

Steve Maxwell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm relatively new to the hobby and am starting on planning a 75G semi-aggressive fish/live rock/coral (probably) tank. I had thought about purchasing an eshopps sump/fuge, but would like to save some $$$.

Does anybody know of any good detailed plans/instructions on how to build your own sump/fuge? I'm wanting to set it up so that I can have my skimmer and heater in there, plus room for pods and chaeto (?), the pump, and anything else that would be needed. I've never done anything like this...nor have I had a sump or fuge...so I'm going to need detailed plans on what to buy and how to assemble.

I've seen this ebook advertised, but was wondering if it was worth getting or not:
http://www.danoreef.com/diy_sump_refugium_plans.html
Or if anybody knew of any better plans?

Thanks in advance for the help!!!

lemonyx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never seen that book, but I'm sure it is not for building a sump but more how to put one together out of a glass tank. It takes some woodworking skills and some tools to cut and edge finish acrylic. If you want to build one yourself, there's a loooooong post on RC on how to build a tank from acrylic and there's also the different types of acrylic to use or not use. You might be better off getting a Petco $1.oo a gal tank and making that a sump, or order one from me.

gl

drstratton

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We bought a 40g breeder from Petco.com during the buy 1 dollar per gallon sale. It might still be going on. I have a 75g DT. You can see my sump/refugium on my build thread. If you like it & if you want step by step let me know & I can post a diy thread to show you how.

OP
OP
Steve Maxwell

Steve Maxwell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0