Do I need to test with weekly water changes?

Digimes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s good if it works for you. My tank is only 5, almost 6 months old, so I assume it needs weekly water change. And I’m also a beginner in this hobby even if I spent a year or 2 in research. I don’t have calcium, mag or po4 test kits, so the only thing that I can test is my ph, my salinity, nitrates, nitrites, alk, and ammonia.
Alk, salinity and Ph are probably the biggest things to test. Biggest thing is don't chase the numbers. The tank will somewhat balance itself, add about half of what you think you need at first until you get it all down good. My most current tank is just over 4 months old and already growing massive coraline. I personally don't think water changes are a super big deal, at least not weekly. Do you have any pics of your current setup?

Oiseaufeu

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water changes cannot maintain alk in any high demand tank unless the changes are daily and large and the new salt water has a higher alk than your tank.

As folks have suggested, measuring alk is the way to know if you are succeeding with the water change plan in terms of the major ions.

Trace elements may or may not be met.
That’s good to know.
Alk, salinity and Ph are probably the biggest things to test. Biggest thing is don't chase the numbers. The tank will somewhat balance itself, add about half of what you think you need at first until you get it all down good. My most current tank is just over 4 months old and already growing massive coraline. I personally don't think water changes are a super big deal, at least not weekly. Do you have any pics of your current setup?

This is my tank set up. Don’t mind my freshwater tank on top. My light was on the white mode, but my iphone 14 picked it up blue for some reason.
C50E9043-4A53-4065-AC08-68C840D4C5F8.jpeg

Digimes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0