Dr Tims one and only?

A$AP-Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, this will be my first time doing a fishless cycle with my new RedSea e-260 tank which I will be setting up in about a week or two. I have a few questions... I researched and I'm getting so many different answers & such ?! now.. question/questions are, when I add this stuff it says it will take about 1 week to fully cycle, I will be using marine depot aquamax reefsaver rock it is stated on the bottle it helps with curing of the rock. I understand that there shouldn't be any lights on. now, Dr. Tim did state that I should use filter socks cause the bacteria can get caught up within the micron bags. I have a all in one tank, which this is my first time using a redsea tank all in one. Normally a cycle for me 5 years ago was 4-5weeks 6 at most for a full tank cycle. any help given is highly appreciated. also any methods you guys have used with this product will be so useful for myself! thank you so much for any answers once again.

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven’t personally used Dr Tim’s but hopefully some of the guys will help you specifically with that, but the days of long 5-6 weeks cycles are gone, although many people still do this which is fine. I used ATM Colony myself which instantly cycled the tank pretty much.

The bacteria in a bottle basically quickly cycles the tanks so you can add fish

I had the E260 before upgrading, it doesn’t have filter socks (assuming you haven’t got the sump option) but it has 2 black chunks of sponge that go in the rear container and I wouldn’t think that would affect the Dr Tim’s if that’s what you mean

And welcome to R2R as well, it’s great to have you with us!

OP
OP
A$AP-Reefer

A$AP-Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0