Drilling a 75 gallon aqueon tank

JayD976

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also blacked out with my truck windows which I wasn’t expecting because I know they’re tempered so much for a “control” test.

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys so this is my first time drilling an aquarium so I’m not exactly sure what I’m doing. I pretty sure it’s not tempered glass but it’s a 50/50 chance so if it is oh well no loss. What is the key to drilling into glass? Is it as hard as it sounds? And how do I connect the plumbing to the whole I drilled?
Make a template out of 1/4" acrylic to guide hole saw and act as a dam to keep diamond hole saw wet. Go slow and reduce pressure when you are about to break thru or you will chip the back side. Not a show stopper, but avoid it if you can.
Put a towel in the aquarium to catch slug.

wisnia99

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just drilled the 40 breeder topfin today It worked!
IMG_5519.jpeg

Celestion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Temperd resist scratching much more than reg , polished edges is not always temperd , yet unfinished edges is always reg , I've broke few lol

cdnco2004

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ahhh man I’m sorry!!!!!! Honestly I would buy predrilled from now on because one the stress of drilling it was killer for me and two I’m dealing with all sorts of leaks by the glass sooo. That’s my opinion
I just assume all Aqueon tanks are tempered at this point.

cdnco2004

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0