Evo 13.5 Build

Boco

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I decided to post my build for some recommendations and to see if what i want to do sounds good to most. this is my first build with a smaller tank, i previously had a red sea max 250 for a few years but had to get rid of it.

after much consideration and looking i decided that the Evo 13.5 was a good tank for me to use for a nano build out. I purchased it and intended to keep everything stock for a bit then slowly upgrade.... well that didnt go as planned..

March 2020
Purchased the Fluval 13.5 and set it up with LFS saltwater for saving time, the Refractometer i had in storage turned out to have been damaged so i went ahead and used the LFS water as is without verifying salinity.. (refractometers were all unavailable online and a different LFS had one coming in a few days later before i was planning to add fish (water ended up being 1.030). I used Turbostart bacteria (2 OZ total) on this tank after setting it up with about a 1 inch sand bed ( about 15lbs of live sand) and 12 pounds of dry rock. with the purchase i also purchased a Koralia nano 425 GPH power-head to add additional flow since everyone said no matter what pump you used the main pump in the FLUVAL would not give you adequate flow. i also purchased the FLUVAL 50W heater that was recommended (however it didnt fit in chamber 3 as it was advertised so its in chamber 1 for now) and i chose not to use a protein skimmer at this time as in all the research i have done none of the smaller ones worked all to well. Added 2 ocellaris clown fish and a CUC (2 turbo snails, 6 small hermits and 2 peppermint shrimp ( my spouse wanted them and got without my knowledge i was thinking of adding 1 but wanted to do some looking before i added it)