Feeding the system with Zooplankton

Ivan Stoiljkovic

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,
I keep thinking about culturing phyto and rotifers (in 5 gal containers) and dosing them to my sump maybe few times a day or night
I have 3 frag tanks (180G each) connected along 2 fish tanks (220G and 430G)

20170821_160055.jpg

20170821_160114.jpg

Do you think that those filter socks will stop rotifers from cycling. how much of a waste would that be
Im using those plastic mesh filter socks.
Also, will that be a good food for both lps and sps?
And I would appreciate any suggestion, I am new to culturing and feeding live.

OP
OP
I

Ivan Stoiljkovic

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for good amount of info.

I do have tigger pods in the refugium, do you think population will explode if I start feeding phyto?
Is there any phyto in my system now since I'm not culturing anything?
What do you think about constant dosing of fresh salt water and constant harvesting with a doser to culture tanks, like 20% daily?
What is the best smallest food for my SPS, rotifers?

WesleyC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do have tigger pods in the refugium, do you think population will explode if I start feeding phyto?

No, unless you dose to the point that you can see a tint of green color in your entire water volume.

Is there any phyto in my system now since I'm not culturing anything?

Very likely no. Any microorganism such as pods, and filter feeders, and even some coral would eat them. Your skimmer will also skim them out.

What do you think about constant dosing of fresh salt water and constant harvesting with a doser to culture tanks, like 20% daily?

It is "possible" to do. The detail is a bit difficult. I can explain later.

What is the best smallest food for my SPS, rotifers?