Filtration

xamz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm new to saltwater tanks and have a few questions about filtration.

I just recently converted my 20g tank from a freshwater to a saltwater tank. I still have a crummy power filter that came with the tank when I bought it. I recently bought an aquaticlife 24" t5 HO fixture and plan to grow zoanthids, mushrooms and soft corals. I also have a very deep sand-bed.

I've been to a lot of stores and talked to owners about filtration and have gotten a variety of responses. The responses included getting a power head for movement and:

1) Getting an additional power filter and filling one with live rock and the other with charcoal.

2) Getting a hang on protein skimmer.

3) Getting a canister filter with charcoal and other media.

I have considered getting a sump with a protein skimmer, although I am running on a budget. Which are good options for this zoanthid/ soft coral tank? Also, depending on the option you think is best, what are some good brands for that option?

OP
OP
X

xamz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, I've done a bunch of research but I don't know which would be best. If anyone has personal experiences or preferences for whatever reason it would be a great help in deciding what type of filtration system to use. Thanks!

Saltgator

Tang Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have any live rock in the system yet?
Also, do you plan on adding any inverts or fish?

OP
OP
X

xamz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 25 lbs of live rock already in the tank. One of the rocks had 2 emerald crabs clinging on it, so I have those too. I plan on adding a few fish and inverts. Possibly a clown fish, a goby, and a couple damsel fish. As far as inverts, some hermit crabs and shrimp would be good for a later addition.

SmokeyCFH

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0