First time cylcing saltwater: Is this cycled or am I being overzelous?

saltylilthang

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I started cycling my tank March 30, 2024 so fairly recent. I have quickstarted my cycle with Stability Seachem. So far the readings look like this (I understand these may not be fully accurate, I am a beginner, and this was recommended since I am not doing a fish in cycle). Salinity is stable at 1.026 when using my refractometer. I am having a hard time keeping PH above 8.0. It usually is around 7.8 without intervention of PH Up. That being said, is it safe to assume I can add some clowns to this tank? Should Nitrites be more detecable? Or would it be better to wait? I do hope to get a wavemaker and an ATO to keep up with adding water and creating more motion in the water. I do hope to own coral down the line. Thanks for any advice.
e27c9fc5-2fb3-4ca0-bfaf-27266ebd3dc0.jpg
6e879c4c-ccb0-44c7-ae54-4ce81b26e080.jpg

OP
OP
saltylilthang

saltylilthang

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It looks like ammonia was never added. You need ammonia to be processed to truly cycle.
Ammonia was added I thought... This was the reading a few days prior where ammonia is closer to 0.25 ppm at least thats how I see it. What can I do to up ammonia? I thought the reading should be 0ppm?
3243db47-6851-4fb8-8969-2d47d2351df1.jpg

Aaron75

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ammonia was added I thought... This was the reading a few days prior where ammonia is closer to 0.25 ppm at least thats how I see it. What can I do to up ammonia? I thought the reading should be 0ppm?
3243db47-6851-4fb8-8969-2d47d2351df1.jpg
That looks exactly the same and it's very common for Api to show .25. Just assume .25=0 with Api. You can add a chunk of shrimp and let it rot a bit. But bottled ammonia is way better, it's predictable/controllable.

OP
OP
saltylilthang

saltylilthang

Community Member
View Badges