Fishless Cycle 4th day

Dan_P

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so im new to to reef aquariums , Im Cycling a red sea max 20gal tank, dry rock, live sand and filled my media basket(3D printed media filter) with Aquaforest live bio fil.
I added the right ammount of drops for my tank(80 drops) of Fritz Aquatics Fishless Fuel Ammonia to get it to 2ppm.
I then added the required ammount of MicroBacter Start XLM , I know i shouldnt but i have been testing for ammonia and nitrite daily with Salifert test kits.
this have been my readings for the past 3 days
Day 1
Nitrite: Not tested(didnt have test kit)
Ammonia: 2
Temp: 78
Day 2
Nitrite:1 looking the test kit from the side
Ammonia:1.5
PH: 8.0
Day 3
Nitrite: 1
Ammonia: 1.5
Day 4
Nitrite: 4 looking the vial from the side (.25 looking from the top )
Ammonia:1.5
Is it normal that I've been getting the same ammonia reading?
Also for Nitrite reading should i read it from the top or the side? intructions show it can be done both ways.
If you had used Bio Spira or Frirz Turbo Start, the ammonia would have started to decline in ~24 hours. Not sure what XLM Start is.

BeanAnimal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was talking about bottled bacteria which has massively improved - not implying that the nitrogen cycle didn't exist until 2008!
I don’t see the bottled bacteria is much of an advance… at least for new aquarists. Threads like this with new aquarists people obsessing about test values and counting the minutes until they can go full stocked Reef, only to post the requisite emergency thread a week later.

Dan_P

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don’t see the bottled bacteria is much of an advance… at least for new aquarists. Threads like this with new aquarists people obsessing about test values and counting the minutes until they can go full stocked Reef, only to post the requisite emergency thread a week later.