Fishless Cycle 4th day

Zoriem

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so im new to to reef aquariums , Im Cycling a red sea max 20gal tank, dry rock, live sand and filled my media basket(3D printed media filter) with Aquaforest live bio fil.
I added the right ammount of drops for my tank(80 drops) of Fritz Aquatics Fishless Fuel Ammonia to get it to 2ppm.
I then added the required ammount of MicroBacter Start XLM , I know i shouldnt but i have been testing for ammonia and nitrite daily with Salifert test kits.
this have been my readings for the past 3 days
Day 1
Nitrite: Not tested(didnt have test kit)
Ammonia: 2
Temp: 78
Day 2
Nitrite:1 looking the test kit from the side
Ammonia:1.5
PH: 8.0
Day 3
Nitrite: 1
Ammonia: 1.5
Day 4
Nitrite: 4 looking the vial from the side (.25 looking from the top )
Is it normal that I've been getting the same ammonia reading?
Also for Nitrite reading should i read it from the top or the side? intructions show it can be done both ways.

19Mateo83

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Ok so im new to to reef aquariums , Im Cycling a red sea max 20gal tank, dry rock, live sand and filled my media basket(3D printed media filter) with Aquaforest live bio fil.
I added the right ammount of drops for my tank(80 drops) of Fritz Aquatics Fishless Fuel Ammonia to get it to 2ppm.
I then added the required ammount of MicroBacter Start XLM , I know i shouldnt but i have been testing for ammonia and nitrite daily with Salifert test kits.
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Also for Nitrite reading should i read it from the top or the side? intructions show it can be done both ways.

19Mateo83

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Looking through the side is the “high resolution” way to read it. You have to devide the results by 10. You can use this to cross check if you having trouble differentiating the color reading it from the top down.

KrisReef

10K Club member