Fishless Cycling Help

Bmw015

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! Not new to saltwater tanks, but definitely new to fishless cycling. I added Dr. Tims Ammonia and One and Only March 2nd. At the time, Ammonia read 4ppm. I have since not added ammonia because ammonia was still present. 3/9 at 1ppm and 3/14 at .75. Do I add more ammonia again? Where do I go from here?

in case you need to know:
Nitrite:
3/9 - 1ppm
3/14 - 3.5 ppm

Nitrate:
3/9 - 10ppm
3/14 - 20ppm

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can add more if you wish. A general rule of thumb is: if it can process 1 to 2 ppm in 24 hours the tank is ready for a small fish or 2
Fishless cycle can take 1 week 2 weeks 3 weeks or 4. every tank is different. Amount of rock sand ect.....

zukihara

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert but either add more bacteria or continue to wait.

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sound like things are progressing nicely. Dose it back up to 2ppm ammonia. Once you can get from 2ppm to 0 in 24 hours you're good. Do a very large water change before you add fish

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! Not new to saltwater tanks, but definitely new to fishless cycling. I added Dr. Tims Ammonia and One and Only March 2nd. At the time, Ammonia read 4ppm. I have since not added ammonia because ammonia was still present. 3/9 at 1ppm and 3/14 at .75. Do I add more ammonia again? Where do I go from here?

in case you need to know:
Nitrite:
3/9 - 1ppm
3/14 - 3.5 ppm

Nitrate:
3/9 - 10ppm
3/14 - 20ppm

Presuming you are following Dr. Tim's fishless cycling method, you can add ammonia so long as nitrite remains below 5ppm. And you are cycled when your ammonia and nitrite reads 0 24 hours after dosing 2-3ppm ammonia.