Flame angel as last fish

Andresnyc93

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys new member and been a fellow reefer for about 2 years now and this is my first time owing an angelfish.

I have a 85 gal tall tank rather than wide with lots of open swimming space but also a lot of rock work. I’ve just added my yellow tang about 3 days ago and he’s already the king of the tank, I should also mention I have a mated pair of clowns, a royal gramma, midas blenny, diamond goby and a mandarin. If I add this little guy after should I be worried about aggression from the tang? Also does the acclimation box in tank really work? As you guys know these two aren’t cheap fish and just want to make the introduction as smooth as possible, thanks in advance!

91329E2F-BA85-4ECC-A594-F6BFD642E4D9.jpeg

OP
OP
Andresnyc93

Andresnyc93

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I added my flame angel 3rd behind my yellow tang and purple tang, the tangs pushed him around for about two days and then the dust settled.
The purple tang nips his fins once in a blue but it's pretty peaceful otherwise
Thanks, how long did you wait between each fish?

Greg P

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've found even adding another territorial fish just a day or 2 later will cause some scuffles so I'd go by how it will affect your nitrifying bacteria.
Most suggest waiting a month between additions to allow bacteria to grow, but you could bypass that by adding something such as Dr Tim's or similar products

CanuckReefer

Simple...Salt, Water, LR, Lighting and Flow.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0