Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
this is my project tank

image-2303562780.jpg

Here it is. Fresh from Craigslist
28g JBJ nano cube. 60-70lb of live rock, 50lb of live sand, 1 clown, 1 hippo tang, 2small groups of zoos.

This tank is extremely overrun with aptasia, manjos, and bristle worms.

image-1575670328.jpg

Gotta like this stuff

image-539067143.jpg

They think they are zoos.

image-1960963528.jpg

More aptasia

Before anyone assumes I'm an idiot i'll explain. Then if you think I'm an idiot, at least you'll have the facts.

I am fairly new to SW aquariums, the details are in my 75g reef tank thread.
I do a lot of research but everyone has different ideas on things. So I want to, with lots of pics, tackle a huge problem in the SW world and be able to confront it when it shows up again. Aptasia was the main focus but it seems like manjos and bristles are going to come up as well. I learn from well documented experiences much better than someone just saying "no you can't do that" or " just kill the rock, it's over". I believe that we as a society give up so quickly when something goes wrong because we want results NOW! And we wonder why we don't care about things or take care of them. I'm not yet 30 but I have the old school mentality of working for something and taking care of it. The satisfaction I get from accomplishing something hard is a feeling that most people my age and younger may never experience. It's sad. So i hope that this thread will help someone else get through similar problems. Alright enough about why I'm doing it lets get going.

Also the hippo tang and clownfish are fish I was getting ready to add to my 75g so that was an added bonus.

So far I got the tank with all the water and everything set up at my house. I did however put 3 of the rocks in a 5gal bucket with a power head and no light.
image-2286437134.jpg

Then 1 by 1 I put them in my 10 gal treatment tank and treated with aptaisaX per instructions.