Getting tired.....

trido

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Every day I see a post stating "You will be disappointed with LED in 3-6 months and will wish you hadn't bought them". Its about enough to turn me away from the site because I feel like I have to defend a tried and true technology that does grow a great reef if done right. I have some of the cheapest LED fixtures you can buy and have greater success than most people in the hobby. Is it the lighting or just reefers who expected miracle results and were disappointed? I've been using LED for five years and have had nothing but great results. This is four months after a major reaquascape. LED's grow most of these corals an inch a month.
February-5663.jpg

McMullen

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've seen all the major LED brands and I personally use black box. They all work and grow coral. I've not had any issues with Sps color or growth and that's with acros on the sandbed of my 30in deep tank. I've bleached a bunch of coral and fried some LPS while "adjusting," though.

Cory

More than 25 years reefing
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Every day I see a post stating "You will be disappointed with LED in 3-6 months and will wish you hadn't bought them". Its about enough to turn me away from the site because I feel like I have to defend a tried and true technology that does grow a great reef if done right. I have some of the cheapest LED fixtures you can buy and have greater success than most people in the hobby. Is it the lighting or just reefers who expected miracle results and were disappointed? I've been using LED for five years and have had nothing but great results. This is four months after a major reaquascape. LED's grow most of these corals an inch a month.
February-5663.jpg