Green Cloudy Water

ALVAREZ13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning everyone. This is my first attempt to write a thread, so forgive me in advance if I do something wrong. I have a 65 gallon fish only (for now) saltwater tank. It has been running for about 6 months. I have your typical wet dry filter, 2 icecap 2K gyros and 2 hydra 26 lights. For about 2 weeks my water has been cloudy, I did some research and found that a UV sterilizer might be what I need. I received my turbo twist 3x yesterday and installed it. But when I got home and before I was able to install it my tank was half green, mainly the bottom half. The UV has been running for about 7 hours at the point I took this picture. Am I going in the right direction with this? How long can it take to clear up? Thanks everyone

A49A57B7-A125-43B8-ABCA-0B8D5E55876C.jpeg

dank reefer

IG: dankreefer_IG
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R @ALVAREZ13

Running a UV could help clear the water up for you, but it will take a couple of days for you to notice a difference. You need to dig deeper and find out why it turned green. Could it be that the media in your canister filter has been exhausted if you are running carbon in it. How many stages is your canister filter, and what are your running in each stage. Although a lot of folks run canister filter on their tanks, the filter it self can become a nutrient trap and cause major issues if they are not regularly maintenance and cleaned out.

If you are running carbon or other media in the canister, it might be time to replace.

Just my thoughts

Diet Coke

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R @ALVAREZ13