CjAmaryllis

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,
I am new to reefing.
I introduced a couple blue legged hermit crabs, bumblebee snails, Astrea snails, a peppermint shrimp, and a clownfish.
My peppermint shrimp is super curious and friendly. I see him often. The Astrea snails I see most every day too.

But, I hardly ever see my hermit crabs or bumblebee snails. So much so that I always think they've died (they'll pop up every few days so I think they're good?)
Should I be checking on them more thoroughly? How long is it typical for them to go missing?
Thanks all!

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the tank is new they may not be finding much to scavenge, otherwise they will find places to hide because they don't want to get eaten and they suspect that you could be a predator who put them in the tank so you could snack on them when you get hungry. Try eating in front of the tank to let them know that you are not short on food and also that you are eating other items than reef tank occupants.

Is there algae growing in the tank, or pods and similar creatures that they can possibly eat?

OP
OP
C

CjAmaryllis

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the tank is new they may not be finding much to scavenge, otherwise they will find places to hide because they don't want to get eaten and they suspect that you could be a predator who put them in the tank so you could snack on them when you get hungry. Try eating in front of the tank to let them know that you are not short on food and also that you are eating other items than reef tank occupants.

Is there algae growing in the tank, or pods and similar creatures that they can possibly eat?
Lol, I can't tell if you're joking about eating in front of the tank.