HELP!!!! Algae out break

saltjunkie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m lost and don’t know what to do, I clean my glass and in seconds the algae is back. Not running any media yet. Just 2 filter socks. Tanks a max e260 with in cabinet sump upgrade. I was thinking of adding a carbon reactor. Also I’m new to reef2reef. Please help.

image.jpg

OP
OP
S

saltjunkie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Haha no, it just covers the glass again in seconds. Nitrates are 5ppm and phosphates are .03ppm

WalkerLoves_TheOcean

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Haha no, it just covers the glass again in seconds. Nitrates are 5ppm and phosphates are .03ppm
Do you have any corals in the tank?

If you dont, I would lower the light to see if that helps.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I’m lost and don’t know what to do, I clean my glass and in seconds the algae is back. Not running any media yet. Just 2 filter socks. Tanks a max e260 with in cabinet sump upgrade. I was thinking of adding a carbon reactor. Also I’m new to reef2reef. Please help.

image.jpg
I see a lot of reflection from tank glass and trying to determine if its algae or dino however the greenish tint to water suggests you are getting too much light and my best guess - the light and indirect light coming from your surrounding windows,. Reduce lighting to tank and add some snails such as :
Astrea
cerith
turbo grazer
trochus

A Pencil urchin

8-10 Caribbean blue leg hermits

Are you using RODI water or tap water from the faucet ?

Outlaw Corals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How old is the tank if it’s new you are probably in the ugly stage, if you’re going to buy any new piece of equipment, do yourself a huge favor and get a algae scrubber and never worry about algae again, and welcome to R2R

Outlaw Corals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0