Help - Dumped Hanna Nitrate Test Water in Tank!

Jeff2c

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I accidentally dumped my Hanna Nitrat test kit water back in the sump. The SDS for the reagent HI782-0 says it contain zinc powder. SDS says category 1 (high) Acute and Chronic Toxity. What should I do? How bad is this? Has anyone else done this?

sunken3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
well.. i have never done that before, .. I would say, it depends on the size of your tank... (the larger the tank, the less the issue)... do a water change and get some carbon in there.

OP
OP
J

Jeff2c

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I expect the dilution is enough to not make it a big problem for most sized tanks.
Thank you all for the input. Total system volume is around 275 gallons. I emailed Hanna customer service and they recommended a water change, carbon filter and media change. I am using poly filter, carbon and will do a water change. I plan to send in a Triton ICP tests as well.

Courtney Aldrich

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I accidentally dumped my Hanna Nitrat test kit water back in the sump. The SDS for the reagent HI782-0 says it contain zinc powder. SDS says category 1 (high) Acute and Chronic Toxity. What should I do? How bad is this? Has anyone else done this?