HELP!! Green hair algae?!

ImNewAtThis

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
38
Reaction score
134
Location
Dayton
So I’ve started slowly adding livestock and stuff to my tank, checking levels, etc. and now I have a green hair algae outbreak. I’ve tried killing the lights and cut back on feeding. It’s really ONLY on my live sand. Do I just pull it out...?
 

Daddy-o

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
2,328
Reaction score
3,245
Location
Redwood City, Ca. 94062 (San Francisco Bay Area)
So I’ve started slowly adding livestock and stuff to my tank, checking levels, etc. and now I have a green hair algae outbreak. I’ve tried killing the lights and cut back on feeding. It’s really ONLY on my live sand. Do I just pull it out...?
If it is only on the sand, siphon it out
 

JGT

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
803
Reaction score
669
Location
Northeast
So I’ve started slowly adding livestock and stuff to my tank, checking levels, etc. and now I have a green hair algae outbreak. I’ve tried killing the lights and cut back on feeding. It’s really ONLY on my live sand. Do I just pull it out...?
Hair algae comes in all colors. Check your NO3 and PO4. Suction it out, reduce lighting, feed less. Be patient. Will take time to eradicate.
 

Ludders

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
772
Reaction score
639
Location
Oxfordshire
To tag onto this, if we take easily removable rocks out to manually scrub, then is it recommended to scrub them in temperature matched new saltwater or would plain RO be fine?
If you scrub them in RO you will be killing off you denitrifying bacteria, so make sure they are in saltwater that holds a similar temperature. If the water is too cold this will kill of the bacteria as well.
 
OP
ImNewAtThis

ImNewAtThis

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
38
Reaction score
134
Location
Dayton
I’ll get one and attach it, I was at school.

image.jpg
 
OP
ImNewAtThis

ImNewAtThis

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
38
Reaction score
134
Location
Dayton
the problem is, your po is bad have you tested your phosphate level? it suppose to be 0.03 also the water you use get a media reactor put rowph all the alge will go away

Seachem PhosGuard and Rowahos



I do have the phosguard, I need to invest in the Hanna phosphate tester, I have API. So it could be 0 or it could be 0.25, the world may never know. Lol thank you for your advice! ☺️
 
Lazys Coral House

Which do you think is better for your reef?

  • Longer Less Intense Lighting

    Votes: 138 41.8%
  • Shorter More Intense Lighting

    Votes: 36 10.9%
  • No Difference

    Votes: 18 5.5%
  • Not sure

    Votes: 127 38.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 11 3.3%

Online statistics

Members online
2,317
Guests online
5,747
Total visitors
8,064
Top