Help identifying crab and making sure he’s still alive.

megan.911

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can anyone help me identify this crab? Can’t find it on Google search the crab was a gift from its previous owner but previous owner said he bought him and added him to a tank and never saw him again inside the tank until today when he was transferred to my tank. He has completely lost color and I am worried he’s dead.I am BRAND NEW to the hobby and don’t know anything about crabs see the pics below and let me know if he didn’t make the transfer. I attached a before and after of his color.

C3CF37B7-3F37-4897-BA59-E40D7024EE10.jpeg 5B115E82-BB74-4ED6-8DF1-2867485F1312.jpeg

OP
OP
megan.911

megan.911

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pom pom crab?
Usually when u add a new shrimp or crab or lobster invert ect. They molt after acclimation. Than they will molt as they grow.
D
So I’ve got a pompom crab with no pompoms. Thank you, I was super worried hopefully that’s what he is doing, any advice on what to add in there for him to be as comfortable as possible? I’ve got live rock, Kenya trees, green star Polyps that’s about it. I’ll upload a pic. Any advice is helpful I’m only like 2 days into the hobby (besides the time I’ve spend cycling the tank with just live rock) I have no fish or coral yet! Now I’ve got to go check out the molting process!

Attachments

• C86693CE-ABD2-4AA5-A7B3-34E87313EE9B.jpeg
    C86693CE-ABD2-4AA5-A7B3-34E87313EE9B.jpeg
    239 KB · Views: 62
Upvote 0

fishmonkey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0