Help me figure out how to keep acros fast

Alpha_and_Gec

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alright, alright. I went a bit overzealous in the coral sales(All frags for $5 CAD... absolute steal) today and got a little acro frag. However, I'm not very good at keeping my alk stable(roughly .1 - .3ppm change daily both up and down, and I haven't figured out how much dosing I need to compensate) and my mag is pretty low(Around 1100ppm, still waiting on the milk jug to empty). What should I be doing to maximize the survival chance of this chunk of acro? Do I test daily and dose accordingly? Do I let the parameters drop? My nutrients are undetectable right now due to low feeding and powerful filtration, should I feed?

I'm not expecting it to live long, but I also don't want to waste my five bucks. Eventually I want to move it to my sump to grow out as food for corallivorous animals when it reaches a sufficient size.

Kasrift

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Alright, alright. I went a bit overzealous in the coral sales(All frags for $5 CAD... absolute steal) today and got a little acro frag. However, I'm not very good at keeping my alk stable(roughly .1 - .3ppm change daily both up and down, and I haven't figured out how much dosing I need to compensate) and my mag is pretty low(Around 1100ppm, still waiting on the milk jug to empty). What should I be doing to maximize the survival chance of this chunk of acro? Do I test daily and dose accordingly? Do I let the parameters drop? My nutrients are undetectable right now due to low feeding and powerful filtration, should I feed?

I'm not expecting it to live long, but I also don't want to waste my five bucks. Eventually I want to move it to my sump to grow out as food for corallivorous animals when it reaches a sufficient size.
Starting in reverse, it won’t grow fast enough for corallivores or survive in a sump unless you have good lighting and a powerhead.