Help with adding first new fish to tank

Alex d

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys, this is my first time setting up a salt water reef system. The tank finished cycling I’m around 3 weeks into the build. I think I’m ready to add my first pair of clownfish to the tank. Looking for some suggestions and what to look for (how to find a mated pair) at the pet store. Also attached a picture of the tank below.

Thanks, Alex

A0497C3E-D8CA-40C7-9AC0-4F81077FE631.jpeg

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
Alex d

Alex d

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Congrats on the setup. Likely at a couple weeks you are not finished cycling yet.

Clowns make a great starter fish. I don't know if you have researched much about Quarantine, as starting a new tank is a great time to start QT all new fish, coral, inverts etc.

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/how-to-quarantine.189815/page-88#post-4917306

Hey thank you, I haven’t done much research on quarentining fish, to do that I would need to set up another smaller system right? So I would have to buy all new equipment for it. I’m only using hang on the back stuff right now

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey thank you, I haven’t done much research on quarentining fish, to do that I would need to set up another smaller system right? So I would have to buy all new equipment for it. I’m only using hang on the back stuff right now

Correct. You would want to use a separate tank. I purchased new equipment for mine on amazon, cheap stuff. Bought both of my QT tanks used from Craigslist, as I was just looking for functionality a scratch here or there was no big deal to me.

10 gallon tank is probably a great start for clownfish and smaller fish like gobies etc. Currently in the hobby fish disease is likely to occur in some fashion in newly purchased fish. It can be very frustrating.

OP