Hitchhiker or new zoa?

PartHuman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, and thanks for taking the time to read, I am new to the saltwater world. A few days ago I bought a few frags from aquasd. All of my corals are doing well except my Omega Star Zoa. It stays retracted most of the time and I noticed something on them. I don't know if it's a hitchhiker or a new Zoa head. It's small and will retract if it is touched took the best pic I could.
My first post tons of threads read, reef2reef seems to be the Reddit of the fish world.

IMG_20230815_063550919~2.jpg

OP
OP
P

PartHuman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
sorry lighting sucks it was in the morning when my lights were turning on ( orange in the morning, blue at night) but it seem the right hue for camera to pick it up. The little ******* is orange/reddish in color. Should I isolate and hit with joes juice or just pull the whole frag out?

OP
OP
P

PartHuman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ty for the quick responses. If it is Aiptasia did I catch it in time or should I worry about small pieces breaking off and spreading? I want to give every creature the best chance, but the frag was only $10. Is it worth the chance to spread to the tank, or am I over-paranoid and jumping the gun? I order some joe juice as it seemed to be the cheapest well-reviewed product- more than the frag. Will try to get a picture during the daylight hours of the tank for more clarity. it does seem to be out when the zoa is not.

OP
OP
P

PartHuman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Same zoa different hours after being in tank, thought it was a hitchhiker and tried to scrape off. Not sure if the orange pic is the same one or different (colony). Sorry for lighting again this was night cycle a few days ago.

Attachments

• IMG_20230812_200334791_HDR~3.jpg
    IMG_20230812_200334791_HDR~3.jpg
    109.5 KB · Views: 36

Rugops

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0