How Accurate are Salifert test kits????

toyencounters

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been testing using Saliferts test kits for about 3 years. All of you that use Salifert test kits know that they come in batches with little stickers at the top of the box printed with the month and year they expire. My question is I had 2 diffrent Magnesium test kits with batches dated 2013 for both of my 34 gallon Solana aquariums and were reading aprx 1350-1360 for a couple of months. I ran out so I bought 2 new Salifert Magnesium test kits dated with batch of 04-2014. I went from a stable reading on my 2013 Salifert batch of 1350-1360 mag to the new Salifert batch of 04-2014 to a rocketing reading of 1440 mag on both of my 34 gallon Solanas Which I tested mulltiple times with very high mag readings!! any input??? how accurate are these Salifert test kits ????

skinz78

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've found them to be fairly accurate, I've checked against other test kits and they always seem to be on.

swannyson7

Moderator/Acro Aficianado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've found them to be fairly accurate, I've checked against other test kits and they always seem to be on.

+1. All brands of test kits seem to have their ups & downs, but salifert seems to be one of the better ones as far as accuracy & consistency.

lps1212

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i agree with both statements above i personally like salifert although recently i have noticed acouple of friends useing elos test kits and they seem to be on the money

soccerbag

Chalices did this to me!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0