How do I keep ghost shimp alive??

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Whats up with my PH with this ****, sorry for being old school but I just started using the DI part and am not thrilled

I am new to city water, dont understand
So companies add minerals to their purified water to make it taste better. You can look up the various ones they add, and I bet they sell a remineralizer mix for people to make their water taste good.

Again, due to lack of minerals, the pH swings. CO2 gets dissolved and becomes carbonic acid, etc.

OP
OP
xxkenny90xx

xxkenny90xx

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks all! I've had the second batch for 6 days now and 0 casualties! Ok maybe 12 of them have been eaten already but none have died in the bucket.

I have 3 left now (gonna restock tomorrow), 2 are full of black eggs. What are your thoughts on raising the young? Should I give that a shot?

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks all! I've had the second batch for 6 days now and 0 casualties! Ok maybe 12 of them have been eaten already but none have died in the bucket.

I have 3 left now (gonna restock tomorrow), 2 are full of black eggs. What are your thoughts on raising the young? Should I give that a shot?
You can try! But IIRC the larvae subsist off of greenwater (aka phyto), and have a larval life cycle. There’ve been a few reports on how to raise them, but it seems hard. And insustainable long term on a hobby scale.

Tankkeepers

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The awful taste is from the lack of minerals. And also CO2/O2.
Mainly co2 as lack of everytbing else does not give water a taste it leaves it blank and tasteless and co2 can be so bad it tastes rotten similar to sulphur but adding o2 will bring the tastlessness back

Tankkeepers

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0